Chapter 16: I Confess

“Chantal, how would you feel if I drove a little further up the road to find another place to eat? I don’t think Miles saw us.”

Sierra thought to herself, I don’t need any drama today. She can’t speak with Miles under these circumstances, not before I tell her that I saw him in Mystic Woods and talked to him.

“That’s fine. I’m not ready to see him. For a fleeting moment, all kinds of thoughts went through my mind, and I wondered if the two of you intentionally tried to set this up,” said Chantal.

“I’m sure, but today the focus is on you and getting your sleep issues resolved,” said Sierra. She quickly backed out of the parking space to get back on the road.

“Slow down Sierra,” said Chantal a few minutes later. I just saw a sign and there’s a place coming up on the right called Pearl’s Diner.”

“Great, we can eat there.”

Sierra parked the car and they went inside. Pearl’s diner  was a family style moderate sized restaurant with a 1960’s music theme. It had booth seating for four and tables for parties of six or eight.

A cheerful bubbly young hostess that stood at the host’s station behind a brown wooden podium greeted them at the door.

“Hello my name is Willow. How many are in your party?”

“Two,” said Sierra.

“Follow me right this way please.”

Sierra and Chantal sat down at a booth near a window.

“Here are your menus. May I get you something to drink?”

“I will have hot tea with lemon,” said Sierra.

Chantal said, “I will have a glass of orange juice.”

“OK, your server will be with you soon,” said Willow.

As she walked away, Sierra and Chantal thanked her.

Sierra looked at her watch. “Great, your doctor’s appointment is at one o’clock. We still have plenty of time to eat and chat.”

Then, an older woman with a raspy voice walked over to their booth and introduced herself to them.

“Hi, my name is Nora. I will be your server.”

“Hello,” they replied.

“Here are your beverages. Who ordered the orange juice?”

“I did,” said Chantal.

“Here’s your tea,” said Nora and she gave the drink to Sierra. “Are you ready to place your orders now or would you like more time?”

“We are,” said Sierra. “I will have the spinach and tomato omelet cooked with pepper jack cheese, and whole wheat toast with honey.”

“OK,” said Nora. Then, she looked at Chantal.

“May I please have the pancake special with one scrambled egg and one slice of bacon?”

“Will that be it?”

“Yes,” said Sierra.

“OK, I will be back soon,” said Nora, taking the menus with her.

“Chantal, I must confess something to you.”

“What?”

“I was just as surprised as you were to see Miles today. Although, I should not have been.”

“What do you mean?’

“Do you remember when I met with Leslie Brent in Mystic Woods to get more information about the cemetery and mausoleum?”

“Yes, what of it?”

“Well, Miles was at the same café.”

“Why are you just telling me now?’

“I wanted to tell you sooner, but I did not want to upset you. You seemed so happy with Devlin after your picnic together. Later that night when I found you in the kitchen resting your head on the dining table, I decided not to tell you after you told me that your heart was fluttering.”

“What about the next day?” asked Chantal.

“I understand if you’re angry, but I planned to wait until the right moment.”

“Sierra, did you tell Miles that we were coming to Brooke Manor?”

“Of course not. I would never betray you. Loyalty is everything.”

At that moment, Nora returned with their food. “Spinach tomato omelet and pancake special,” she said, and placed their plates on the table before them. “May I get you anything else?” she asked.

“No, thank you,” said Sierra.

“I’m fine, thank you,” said Chantal.

Chantal resumed questioning Sierra after Nora walked away. “Then, why is he in Woodbine?” she asked.

“He’s here with a research team from his family’s oil company. They’re Investigating that natural gas explosion that we heard about on the radio in Thousand Oaks.”

Sierra looked  in her purse and took out a business card.

“This is the card that he gave to me. It has his cell phone number on the back. I did not have much time to talk with him.” She passed the card to Chantal.

“Sierra, I appreciate what you tried to do. I’m just bewildered. I did not think I would hear from Miles or see him again this soon. When I tried to convince him to work things out, he was adamant about ending our relationship. He said it was for the best. Now, I agree with him 100 percent.”

“Chantal, I felt so conflicted. I did not want to tell you because you appeared to have moved on since you’ve met Devlin, but I could never forgive myself if I kept Miles’s stay in Woodbine a secret from you. Are you the least bit interested to know what he’s going to say if you speak with him?”

“Who cares? I’m not going to do anything to ruin what I have now with Devlin.”

“I have an idea. Let’s invite Miles to lunch or dinner at Brooke Manor, with me, you, and Devlin?”

“That would be awkward. What would Devlin think?”

“Devlin is a consummate gentleman. He will be kind  to Miles. He will let you go if he senses that you still love Miles, and if Miles genuinely loves you. Devlin will tell you what he thinks. What do you have to lose?”

“OK, I will give Miles a call and invite him to dinner.”

Nora approached the table and asked, “Is everything OK?”

“Everything is fine. Check please,” said Sierra.

 

 

Leave a Reply

